League News



Following an intense and exciting 2022-23 season, the Maritime Major Female Hockey League is proud to announce the winners of the various post-season awards, as well as the All-Star Team recipients.  There was plenty of great action on the ice, and before we get to the individual award winners, we also want to take a moment to congratulate the various teams that reached certain accomplishments.

First, congratulations go out to the Cape Breton Lynx on doing a great job as hosts of the U18AAA Female Atlantic Championships.  The Lynx ran a fantastic tournament, and all 12 games were extremely entertaining.

To the three provincial champions - the Eastern Stars (PEI), the TNT Western Flames (NB), and Northern Subway Selects (NS) - we extend congratulations on winning their respective provinces, and for the great showings at the Atlantics.  All three teams (and the Lynx as hosts) were great representatives of our league on and off the ice.  Of course, to the Selects, congratulations on the second consecutive Atlantic title, and the whole league stands behind them in Prince Albert, SK coming up in a little less than a week.  The Selects were also the league regular season champions once again, with a well earned and spectacular record of 21-1-2.

Now, to the individual awards.  We will begin with:

Rookie All Star Team:

Goalie - Paige MacPhee - Halifax Western Capitals

Defense - Rachel Walsh - ACTION Benefits Penguins

Defense - Brooklyn MacNeil - Cape Breton Lynx

Forward - Kennedy Vickers - Cape Breton Lynx

Forward - Emily Lutley - Eastern (PEI) Stars

Forward - Skylar MacLean - Cape Breton Lynx

Second Team All Stars:

Goalie - Kaitlyn Langille - ACTION Benefits Penguins

Defense - Catherine Chiasson - Cape Breton Lynx

Defense - Monica Richard - EDZA East Moncton Subaru Rockets

Forward - Brooke Henderson - ACTION Benefits Penguins

Forward - Caroline Gallant - EDZA East Moncton Subaru Rockets

Forward - Maggie Duck - Halifax Western Capitals

First Team All Stars:

Goalie - Jorja Burrows - Northern Subway Selects

Defense - Sarah Fraser - Northern Subway Selects

Defense - Julie Cormier - EDZA East Moncton Subaru Rockets

Forward - Brooke Thompson - Northern Subway Selects

Forward - Samantha Taylor - Halifax Western Capitals

Forward - Erin Lawless - Cape Breton Lynx

Individual Major Awards:

League Top Goaltender - Gabby Arsenault - Northern Subway Selects

League Top Defense - Bree MacPherson - Northern Subway Selects

League Top Forward - Kameryn Lahey - Cape Breton Lynx

League Top Rookie - Kendall Doiron - Northern Subway Selects

League MVP - Samantha Morrison - Cape Breton Lynx

League Most Sportsmanlike - Kenzie Greencorn - Northern Subway Selects


Once again, congratulations to all of our winners.  

Apr 18, 2023