League News



Hockey Nova Scotia has officially granted a new Maritime Major U18 Female Hockey League (MMFHL) franchise to Region 3. This decision was announced today, confirming the successful bid led by Jordan Burke as the team operator and Devin Hartnell as the team president. This significant development impacts the areas covered by the Metro East Female Hockey Association and the regions of Bedford and Sackville.

The new team, named the Lindsay Surge, is set to commence operations in the 2024-25 MMFHL season. Burke and Hartnell, known for their substantial experience in both the professional sphere and hockey circles, aim to bring their expertise to the fledgling team.

Leijsa Wilton, Chair of Hockey Nova Scotia’s Female Council, expressed enthusiasm about the potential for growth and development that the Lindsay Surge brings to the table. “The leadership group of the Lindsay Surge is committed to nurturing their players and enhancing the league's competitiveness," Wilton noted. She also highlighted the anticipated collaborative efforts with league president Paul Carroll and the new league executives to advance female hockey throughout the province.

The MMFHL stands as the premier U18 female hockey league in the Maritime region, featuring teams from Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and New Brunswick.

In celebration of this new chapter, both Hockey Nova Scotia and the MMFHL executive extend their congratulations to Burke and Hartnell on their successful bid, wishing the Lindsay Surge success in the forthcoming season.

Jun 3, 2024